2026 General Primary and General Election Initial Announcement of Judicial Vacancies

The following vacancies have been added to the judicial vacancies to be elected in 2026.

Pages 2-3 Vacancies sorted by date

Pages 4-5 Vacancies sorted by districts, circuits, and subcircuits

This document is a listing of judicial vacancies for which candidates will be nominated at the 2026 General Primary Election and elected at the 2026 General Election.

Candidates seeking an established party nomination to any of these vacancies will file their nomination documents during the initial filing period which will be held from October 27 - November 3, 2025.

Candidates filing during this period may begin circulating their petitions on August 5, 2025.

Individuals who wish to run as independents or new party candidates may begin petition circulation on February 25, 2026, and will file their nomination documents during the filing period of May 18-26, 2026.

The judicial vacancies listed in this document have been placed in two separate lists. The first list will sort vacancies by the district, circuit, or subcircuit. The second list will sort the vacancies by the date the vacancy was certified to the State Board of Elections.

This list will continue to be updated as more vacancies occur leading up to October 12, 2025, which is the cutoff date for vacancies to be open for filing during the initial filing period. Please continue to check the State Board of Elections' website as additional vacancies are announced.

Vacancies which occur during the timeframe of October 13 - November 3, 2025, will be listed in a separate document. Established party candidates for these vacancies will file their nomination documents during the filing period of November 17-24, 2025.

2026 Judicial Vacancies Vacancies that exist as of 06/01/2025

This list includes judicial vacancies to be elected at the 2026 General Election

Supreme Court

District Vacancy Name Date Certified to SBE

	Appellate Court	
District	Vacancy Name	Date Certified to SBE
3	Honorable Mary M. McDade	12/9/2024

	Cook Circuit Court	
Subcircuit	Vacancy Name	Date Certified to SBE
At Large	Honorable Paul A. Karkula	2/7/2024
19th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Michael J. Kane	2/7/2024
20th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of David E. Haracz	2/7/2024
16th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Callie L. Baird	4/1/2024
17th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Lloyd J. Brooks	4/16/2024
18th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Jeffery G. Chrones	4/16/2024
19th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of John A. Fairman	4/16/2024
20th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Stephanie K. Miller	4/16/2024
16th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Patricia Mendoza	4/17/2024
3rd Subcircuit	Honorable Thomas W. Murphy	5/29/2024
At Large	Honorable Mary Ellen Coghlan	6/20/2024
At Large	Honorable William H. Hooks	7/3/2024
8th Subcircuit	Honorable Celia Gamrath	8/5/2024

Ordered by Date Vacancy was Certified

17th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of James R. Carroll	8/27/2024
11th Subcircuit	Honorable Mary Colleen Roberts	10/8/2024
At Large	Honorable Cynthia Y. Cobbs	12/9/2024
1st Subcircuit	Honorable Carl A. Walker	12/9/2024
8th Subcircuit	Honorable Mary L. Mikva	12/9/2024
13th Subcircuit	Honorable Martin C. Kelley	12/9/2024
13th Subcircuit	Honorable Shannon P. O'Malley	12/9/2024
18th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Frank J. Andreou	12/9/2024
11th Subcircuit	Honorable Pamela McLean Meyerson	12/17/2024
1st Subcircuit	Honorable Robert Balanoff	1/10/2025
13th Subcircuit	Honorable John J. Curry, Jr.	4/24/2025

		Downstate Circuit Court	
Circuit	Subcircuit or Resident County	Vacancy Name	Date Certified to SBE
10	Resident - Peoria	Honorable John P. Vespa	2/7/2024
12	1st Subcircuit	Honorable David M. Carlson	3/5/2024
8	At Large	Honorable Robert K. Adrian	3/19/2024
11	Resident - Woodford	Honorable Charles M. Feeney, III	7/3/2024
18	4th Subcircuit	Honorable K. Wilson	7/17/2024
17	2nd Subcircuit	Honorable Eugene Doherty	8/12/2024
8	At Large	Honorable Amy C. Lannerd	9/20/2024
2	Resident - Edwards	Honorable Michael J. Valentine	12/9/2024
2	Resident - Wayne	Honorable Michael J. Molt	12/9/2024
3	2nd Subcircuit	Honorable Stephen A. Stobbs	12/9/2024
12	3rd Subcircuit	Honorable John C. Anderson	12/9/2024
4	At Large	Honorable Douglas L. Jarman	1/8/2025
13	At Large	Honorable Cynthia M. Raccuglia	2/14/2025
2	Resident - Richland	Honorable Ray W. Vaughn	3/20/2025
12	5th Subcircuit	Honorable Barbara N. Petrungaro	5/9/2025
15	Resident - JoDaviess	Honorable Kevin J. Ward	5/9/2025
14	Resident - Rock Island	Honorable Linnea E. Thompson	5/16/2025

2026 Judicial Vacancies Vacancies that exist as of 06/01/2025

This list includes judicial vacancies to be elected at the 2026 General Election

	Supreme Court

District Vacancy Name Date Certified to SBE

	Appellate Court	
District	Vacancy Name	Date Certified to SBE
3	Honorable Mary M. McDade	12/9/2024

	Cook Circuit Court	
Subcircuit	Vacancy Name	Date Certified to SBE
At Large	Honorable Paul A. Karkula	2/7/2024
At Large	Honorable Mary Ellen Coghlan	6/20/2024
At Large	Honorable William H. Hooks	7/3/2024
At Large	Honorable Cynthia Y. Cobbs	12/9/2024
1st Subcircuit	Honorable Carl A. Walker	12/9/2024
1st Subcircuit	Honorable Robert Balanoff	1/10/2025
3rd Subcircuit	Honorable Thomas W. Murphy	5/29/2024
8th Subcircuit	Honorable Celia Gamrath	8/5/2024
8th Subcircuit	Honorable Mary L. Mikva	12/9/2024
11th Subcircuit	Honorable Mary Colleen Roberts	10/8/2024
11th Subcircuit	Honorable Pamela McLean Meyerson	12/17/2024
13th Subcircuit	Honorable Martin C. Kelley	12/9/2024
13th Subcircuit	Honorable Shannon P. O'Malley	12/9/2024
13th Subcircuit	Honorable John J. Curry, Jr.	4/24/2025
16th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Callie L. Baird	4/1/2024
16th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Patricia Mendoza	4/17/2024
17th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Lloyd J. Brooks	4/16/2024

Ordered by District or Circuit

17th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of James R. Carroll	8/27/2024
18th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Jeffery G. Chrones	4/16/2024
18th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Frank J. Andreou	12/9/2024
19th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Michael J. Kane	2/7/2024
19th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of John A. Fairman	4/16/2024
20th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of David E. Haracz	2/7/2024
20th Subcircuit	Converted from the Associate Judgeship of Stephanie K. Miller	4/16/2024

Downstate Circuit Court			
Circuit	Subcircuit or Resident County	Vacancy Name	Date Certified to SBE
2	Resident - Edwards	Honorable Michael J. Valentine	12/9/2024
2	Resident - Richland	Honorable Ray W. Vaughn	3/20/2025
2	Resident - Wayne	Honorable Michael J. Molt	12/9/2024
3	2nd Subcircuit	Honorable Stephen A. Stobbs	12/9/2024
4	At Large	Honorable Douglas L. Jarman	1/8/2025
8	At Large	Honorable Robert K. Adrian	3/19/2024
8	At Large	Honorable Amy C. Lannerd	9/20/2024
10	Resident - Peoria	Honorable John P. Vespa	2/7/2024
11	Resident - Woodford	Honorable Charles M. Feeney, III	7/3/2024
12	1st Subcircuit	Honorable David M. Carlson	3/5/2024
12	3rd Subcircuit	Honorable John C. Anderson	12/9/2024
12	5th Subcircuit	Honorable Barbara N. Petrungaro	5/9/2025
13	At Large	Honorable Cynthia M. Raccuglia	2/14/2025
14	Resident - Rock Island	Honorable Linnea E Thompson	5/16/2025
15	Resident - JoDaviess	Honorable Kevin J. Ward	5/9/2025
17	2nd Subcircuit	Honorable Eugene Doherty	8/12/2024
18	4th Subcircuit	Honorable K. Wilson	7/17/2024